Breakfast flapjacks 

On previous diet missions I have relied heavily on shop brought mini cakes and pastrys like brioche, malt loaf or cereal bars for my morning feast.  This time I decided no, thats too expensive, lets see what I can do myself. I’ve had a go at rice crispy bites before and they are good, but recently I’ve gotten into flapjacks so I went a hunting for a low calorie tasty recipe.

As I find more often than not, I see all sorts of options, too many really. Every time you add a twist or ingredient it tends to add calories, or money spent which is what I’m trying to avoid at the moment. So challenge on to create my own flapjacks which are cheap, low calorie and tasty!

Ingredients 

  • 130g Scottish porridge oats
  • 30g Plain Flour
  • 75g Flora Light spread
  • 40g Sultanas 
  • 70g Soft Brown Sugar 
  • 20 Golden Syrup
  • 30g ground Almonds
  • 10g Glacé Cherries chopped

I set my oven warming at around 180 while I set up ingredients and readied a silicone square sided dish.

I then melted the spread, syrup and sugar in a pan till it was runny.
After removing from the heat I added the dry ingredients and mixed thoroughly with a wooden spoon.

Quickly I transferred the mixture to the baking dish and using my hands kneaded it nice and flat. That got a bit sticky till I used my knuckles!

Into the oven for about 20-25 minutes till it was golden brown. 

Then cooled a little and turned it on to a drying rack.

This made me 8 small flapjacks at about  180 calories each.

The result? Rather rarn tasty!  

This isn’t the super gooey flapjack of my dreams but its sweet, tasty and fills me up for my morning fix. My boyfriend gobbled up about 6 of them in one day so I must have done something right?!

Leave a Reply

