Parsnip Soup

After my mega bargain purchase of all those post Christmas parsnips I began my hunt for a good soup recipe. And I found many, but nothing that totally grabbed me and as usual lots of yummy calories added like cream, milk, oil, potato and so on. Don’t get me wrong, all of those are great ingredients but knowing I can make other nice soups that are super filling without them, I just see them as extras while I’m at the beginning of my diet.

I read all sorts of variations from parsnip and cauliflower, spicy chilly, with potato, with cabbage with carrot…

So I just went for it myself with what was in the cupboard.  And I come up with a really yummy low calorie, really filling soup!

Ingredients 

  • 8 Parsnips medium 
  • 2 sticks of Celery 
  • 1 Onion medium
  • 2 cloves of Garlic 
  • 1 litre Veg stock
  • 1 tbsp Garam Masala 
  • 1/2 tbsp ground Cumin
  • 10 squirts of Olive Oil spray
  • Salt and Pepper 

I chopped the onions and in a large pan softened them with the oil and garlic.

Then added a little sprinkle of water and added the spices.  Next came the vegetable stock, followed by the chopped celery and parsnips.

I gently simmered the pan till the parsnips were soft, then removed from the heat to cool a little.

Lastly I viciously attacked it with a stick blender until it was smooth and pulpy. 

This made me 7 portions at 101 calories each.

The resulting soup was super nomnomnom and will be sustaining me for my work lunches next week!


Leave a Reply

