Veggie Chilly

I had such good intentions to do a really thorough blog about this chilli but I got so hungry after work I just made the thing and ate it!

I am no chilli connoisseur, but I know what I enjoy and I love the versatility of them. I make them quite a lot in my own style – in fact I don’t really like kidney beans which seems to be a horrific crime to some of my friends!  Also beans add calories so I make do with more veg.

My sister is vegetarian and I got used to using quorn mince yeaaars ago and I now prefer it. Also it’s low in calories so helps me along. I can have a huge pile of food and feel super pleased! Also I am happy to use a packet sachet for the seasoning. Its fine by me.

I like to mix things up with random veg, my thrift mission meaning I have loads of different things in the fridge. I am a huge fan of okra and leeks, and was delighted to find some in the discount bin. So okra and leek chilli it is!

Here is my spin on a vegetarian chilli.

Ingredients

  • 500g Quorn mince
  • 1 Leek
  • 3 sticks of Celery
  • 400g tin of plumb tomatoes
  • 110g Mushrooms
  • 1 Schwartz chilli con carne sachet
  • 125g Okra
  • 2 Plumbs
  • 1 Conference pear
  • 2 tbsp tomatoe purée 
  • 6 Squirts of olive oil spray
  • Salt and pepper

Method

Chop everything up.

Grab a wok or pan and squirt in the oil.

Cook off the leeks and celery with salt and pepper and a splash of water till they begin to soften.

Add the okra and mushrooms.

When they soften add the pear and plum.

Don’t let the mix dry, add a touch of water if needed.

Mix in the tomatoes, sachet then the mince and purée.

Let it all mingle.

Hey presto, a yummy veggie chilli!

This made me 5 portions at 213 calories each. I had it with sweet potato and lemon dressed spring greens.

Leave a Reply

