Tikel Gomen

I am a huge fan of Ethiopian food, and was lucky enough to live within easy reach of Tutu’s Ethiopian Table at the risc centre in Reading, England. Oh my god if you ever get the chance to visit there on a Thursday night, you can take full advantage of their buffet, and try a selection of the different dishes they make. Soooo good.

Over Christmas I made the discovery that you can now buy their  products in the risc shop. HAPPY DAYSS!!!!!! So I picked up my favourite, Misr Wat and today is the day I’m going to eat it. Misr Wat is a red lentil dish, full of spices and is just delicious.

But what to have with it? Well I am going to try and make another of my favourite dishes called Tikel Gomen, to go along side it.  This dish is made of carrots, potato, onion and cabbage in a lovely warm set of spices.

As usual with my recipes I am going to try and loose a few calories in from the mix and use up some of my bargain buy veggies.

This recipe should use white cabbage which helps it retain its rich colour. I’m using up some red cabbage I have left over. Also you should use turmeric and cumin. I ran out of turmeric so I’m using more cumin and a little garam masala. The colour will be wrong! It should be a lovely yellowish dish.

You should have this with huge fantastic sour dough bread pancakes called injera, I’m going to use up some olive bread I have in the cupboard. I’ll have a go at injera at some point!

So, this in mind, here is my recipe.


Ingredients 

  • 1 Medium onion
  • 4 Large carrots 
  • 1 Red cabbage head
  • 400g potatoes 
  • 1 tbsp Olive oil
  • 2 tbsp Flora Light
  • 1.5 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garam masala 
  • 1 tsp ground ginger

Method

Grab a wok or suitable pan.

Chop the carrots and potato into small pieces. Slice the onion small. The cabbage needs to be chopped small (I used frozen pre chopped cabbage).

Heat the oil and flora and add the spices and seasoning, carrots and onion to cook them off a little.


Add the potato, cook this off a little.

Add the cabbage and cook till the ingredients are softened. Add a little water to stop it sticking if it cooks too hard.


And there we have it! This tasted pretty great. The colour was strange but the taste was there. The flora added a little buttery taste which was yum.

This made me 6 side portions at 151 calories each.

Leave a Reply

