Grocery challenge- April

I’m giving myself a challenge. In April this year, I don’t want to spend any of my wages on my grocery shopping.

There is no reason for this particularly, I just want to see if I can, and hopefully I will be able to see what my habits are like – and if they are as good value as I think!

In the last week I’ve had a £5.60 Tesco voucher arrive in the post, and counted up my coin jar which has about 6 quid in it.

I recon even being as tight with cash as I am at the moment I can save my loose change up, and coupon search enough for the rest of February and March to not spend any of Aprils wages on food.

So game on.

I think I need about another £25 to be able to do it realistically.  Now that doesn’t sound like much but just taking £25 and putting it in my jar is no challenge and I can’t afford to do that anyway.  The tricky thing is I don’t get cash out all that often. I am dreadful at spending money in my pocket so I usually just use my card.  I have gotten a couple of things for my flatmates from the shops and they paid me back in change so thats a possible way to help!

Also I know very well it’s possible to eat cheaper. I’ve done it myself in the past, but I want to have fresh fruit and veg in the fridge, I am happy with my diet at the moment.  I would like to be able to have a free month each year like this, or twice a year and for it to be sustainable and enjoyable.

So, £35 ish in total is my target.

My rules are, ONLY;

  • Vouchers
  • Coupons
  • Loose coins

To be stashed up for April. I’ll change up the little coins so I don’t destroy the tills with 2p pieces hehe.

Time to get stashing!

Leave a Reply

